Friday, June 24, 2011

24th Of June 2011 Update & Reviews

24th of June 2011 Update of New and Key Restocked Items
at Redscroll Records

LPs & 12"s
All Time Low    "Dirty Work"
Ambarchi, Oren / O'Rourke, Jim    "Indeed"
Animals As Leaders    "Animals As Leaders (180 Gram 2LP)"
Arctic Monkeys    "Suck It And See (180 Gram + D/L)"
August Burns Red    "Leveler (+ D/L)"
Civil Wars, The    "Barton Hollow (+ D/L)"
Cramps, The    "Smell Of Female"
Death Hymn Number 9    "Smokestack Fright (+ D/L)"
Der Blutharsch    "Werkschau 1997:2010"
Flat Duo Jets    "Red Tango"
Follow Through    "Taking It Back"
Go Sailor    "Go Sailor (1996 Discography + D/L)"
Gold Bears    "Are You Falling In Love? (+ D/L)"
Handsome Furs    "Sound Kapital (Ltd. Ed. Colored Vinyl + D/L)"
Harvey, PJ    "4-Track Demos (+ D/L)"
Herbrcraft    "Ashram To The Stars"
Holy Ghost!    "Wait & See"
Hudson, Jeff & Jane    "Flesh (Expanded) 1981-1983 (2LP Discography)"
Ikebe    "Shakedown (+ D/L)"
Jonsi    "Go Out EP"
KXP    "KXP"
Light Asylum    "In Tension E.P. (Ltd. Ed. + D/L)"
Maus, John    "We Must Become The Pitiless Censors Of Ourselves (Ltd. Ed. Hand Numbered 180 Gram + D/L)"
Orthodox    "Ba'al (180 Gram)"
PG. 99 (Page Ninetynine)    "Document #8"
Purling Hiss    "Lounge Lizards (Ltd. Ed. + D/L)"
Queens Of The Stone Age    "Queens Of The Stone Age (Gatefold Re-Issue)"
Segall, Ty    "Goodbye Bread"
Servile Sect    "TRVTH"
Set Your Goals    "Burning At Both Ends (+ CD)"
Shabazz Palaces    "Black Up (+ D/L)"
Skull Snaps    "Snapped"
Sleigh Bells    "Treats (Deluxe 180 Gram Gatefold + Notebook)"
Smaldone, Micah Blue    "The Red River"
Teeth of the Sea    "Hypnoticon"
Unknown Mortal Orchestra    "Unknown Mortal Orchestra"
Valentine, Matt "MV"    "What I Became"
Various Artists    "Kitsune Maison Compilation 11"
Various Artists    "London Is The Place For Me: Trinidadian Calypso In London, 1950-1956"
Various Artists    "London Is The Place For Me 4: African Dreams And The Piccadilly High Life"
Various Artists    "8 Bit! Rude Boy: Dub Reggae Chipmusic"
White Lies    "White Lies (180 Gram + D/L)"
Wolfe, Chelsea    "The Grime And The Glow"

Hip-Hop 12"s & LPs
13 & God    "Own Your Ghost (+ D/L)"
C-Rayz Walz    "Chorus Rhyme: Parallel Thought"
DJ Signify    "Of Cities (Ft. Aesop Rock, Matt Kelly, Blockhead)"
Grouch, The    "Show You The World EP"
Hail Mary Mallon (Aesop Rock, Rob Sonic, DJ Big Wiz)    "Are You Gonna Eat That (2LP + D/L)"
Jay-Z    "Reasonable Doubt (1st Album)"
Kool Keith    "Lost Masters Volume 2 (2LP)"
Midnight Eez, The    "The Midnight Eez"
Rammelzee Vs K.Rob    "Beat Bop"
West, Kanye    "Late Registration"

Electronic 12"s
2562    "Fever"
6Blocc    "I Dubs Vol 1 EP"
6Blocc    "I Dubs Vol 2 EP"
6Blocc    "I Dubs Vol 4 EP"
Actress    "Ghosts Have A Heaven"
Addison Groove    "It's Got Me"
Altered Natives    "No Mortgage EP"
Aphex Twin    "Windowlicker"
Aphex Twin    "Come To Daddy"
Azari & III    "Hungry For The Power (Remixes)"
Blake, James    "CMYK EP"
Blake, James    "$ (Lil Wayne, Destiny's Child)"
Bo Marley    "Bo Marley Vs Disrupt"
Bok Bok    "Southside EP"
Carlos Y Gaby    "LA 5 Of 10: GB (Gifted & Blessed) 10""
Ceephax Acid Crew    "The Unstoppable Phax Machine"
Clams Casino    "Rainforest"
Cubic Zirconia / Bok Bok & Cubic Zirconia    "Hoes Come Out At Night (Ikonika Remix) / Reclash (Give It To Me)"
Daedelus / Teebs    "LA 6 Of 10 10""
Daft Punk    "Around The World (2009 Disco Re-Edit)"
Daft Punk    "Television Rules (Deadhaus Mix)"
Dave Angel    "Panther Chizawa"
Deadbeat    "Drawn And Quartered"
Egyptrixx    "Bible Eyes (2LP)"
Funckarma    "Smizm EP"
Girl Unit    "IRL"
Girl Unit    "Wut"
Hall, Kyle / Manuel Gonzales    "NSNT PRJCT (Nu School N1994 Techno)"
Illum Sphere    "Incoming EP"
J-Wow (Buraka Som Sistema)    "O Dedo"
Kingdom    "That Mystic"
Kingdom / Girl Unit / Kindom    "Ride It Every Time / Fogs"
Krystal Klear    "Tried For Your Love"
Lawler, Steve    "Kalimba"
Lone    "Cluster Dreams"
Lukid    "Boxing Club / Blind Spot"
Martyn / Mike Slott    "Collabs Series"
Model 500    "Ofi / Huesca"
Murderbot, Chrissy    "Women's Studies (+ D/L)"
NastyNasty    "No Names"
Pearson Sound    "Pearson Sound"
Punks Jump Up    "Blockhead"
Robotnick, Alexander    "The Dark Side Of The Spoon"
Robotnick, Alexander    "Obsession"
Sade    "Motor City Detroit Soul Mixes"
Scuba    "Love For You (Ft. Lisa Shaw)"
Sebastian    "Total (2LP+CD)"
Slackk    "Slackk - Theme EP"
Solvent    "Think Like Us (No CD)"
Solvent    "Latch, Fasten, Secure"
Speedy J    "EDLX Tool"
Tayo Meets Acid Rockers    "Vampayas"
Tiga    "Beep Beep Beep"
Tokimonsa / Mike Gao    "LA 8 Of 10 10""
Tokimonsta    "Midnight Menu"
Untold    "Stereo Freeze / Mass Dreams Of The Future"
Various Artists    "In Order To Dance: Remix Sampler Vol. 1"
Venetian Snares    "Cubist Reggae"
Wireman / Actress / Be    "M7 "

Clash, The    "Black Market Clash (Ltd. Ed.)"

Beirut "East Harlem"
Zomby "A Devil Lay Here"

Alcest "Le Secret"
Anti-G "Presents Kenje'sz Beatsz"
Autopsy "Macabre Eternal"
Hail Mary Mallon (Aesop Rock, Rob Sonic, DJ Big Wiz)    "Are You Gonna Eat That"
Murderbot, Chrissy "Women's Studies"
My Dying Bride "Evinta"
Nurse With Wound "Who Can I Turn To Stereo"
Planks "Darkest Grays"
Tombs "Paths Of Totality"
Various Artists "Cherrystone's Rocks"

Dead Can Dance "Toward The Within"


Battles Gloss Drop CD/LP
(Warp Records)

Not many albums can be considered both experimental and accessible, but Gloss
deserves that distinction. It may be tough to imagine that Battles would
maintain their unique sound after guitarist/vocalist Tyondai Braxton’s 2010
departure, but this album shows that the remaining members have successfully
carved out their niche. Describing the music is a true challenge, but I think it
instantly connected with me because it reminds me of video game music; catchy
melodies that remain infectious after extended periods of listening, backed with
instrumentation that freely thrives outside conventional “pop” songwriting. All
three members have truly intense, complex musical talent, and the four tracks
with guest vocals are very unique. Standouts include the uninhibited, irresistible
and sweetly speckled “Ice Cream” (featuring Chilean artist Matias Aguayo) and the
invigoratingly epic “My Machines” (Gary Numan.)
[Reviewer: Mark]

Matthew Cooper Some Days Are Better Than Others LP
(Temporary Resistance Ltd.)

Better known by his stage name Eluvium, Cooper has composed a rich, iridescent
ambient score for the titular film by fellow Portlander Matt McCormick. The subject
matter of Some Days Are Better Than Others is “strangers whose lives occasionally
intersect as they navigate their way through the struggles of personal attachment
and disconnection,” according to the label’s site. As Cooper watched the film, he
was inspired by the theme of our “out with the old, in with the new” society, so he
chose to use damaged instruments as a means of demonstrating their abandoned
potential. The resulting music does not sound “broken” at all, but rather beautiful
and meaningful. Since his specialty is crafting an ambient atmosphere, he uses
several electronic instruments. An organ/synthesizer particularly stands out, along
with strings in several tracks. Listening to this score is like a spending a day for an
introspective analysis of one’s own life - a sobering method of finding solace.
[Reviewer: Mark]

Wolves Simulation. Transparency. Alienation 10"
(Coalition Records)

We've had copies of this featured at the front of the store for a while, but people seem to not notice.  That sucks 'cause it's good! Wolves was oneo fthe bands to crawl out of Orchid's rotting corpse.  These dudes play the jazzy version of screamo peppered with audio clips over feedback to get you rev'd up. PLAY IT LOUD! Comes with a download. FFO: Off Minor, Neil Perry, Forstella Ford
[Reviewer: Josh]

No comments:

Blog Archive